

**A. K. SASEENDRAN** [N.C.P.– ELATHUR]

## Minister for Transport

Son of Shri A. Kunhambu and Smt. M.K. Janaki; born at Kannur on 29th January 1946; D.A.M. (course completed); Social and Political Worker.

Was President, District Committee, Kerala Students Union Kozhikode (1963-66), General Secretary, Kerala Students Union (1967-69); General Secretary (1969-77), Vice President (1969-78) and President (1978-80), Kerala Pradesh Youth Congress Committee; Member, Coffee Board (1978-80); ISCUS (1977-81); Governing Board of Kerala Saksharata Samiti (1987-91 & 1992-97); Kerala State Housing Board (1997-2001); Vice-President, Jawaharlal Nehru Public Library and Research Centre, Kannur; General Secretary, Congress (U) & Indian Congress Socialist (Congress(S)); Member, Advisory Committee, Food Corporation of India; State General Secretary, State Vice President, National Committee Member, Working Committee Member and Parliamentary Party leader of Nationalist Congress Party (N.C.P.); Chairman, Library Advisory Committee, Kerala Legislative Assembly

Minister for Transport (from 25-5-2016 to 27-3-2017 and since 1-2-2018)

Previously elected to KLA in 1980, 1982, 2006 and 2011.

Languages known : Malayalam and English

Wife : Smt. Anitha Krishnan N.T.



Children : One son

Travels Abroad : Middle East Countries, U.A.E.,

Malaysia, Singapore, Sri Lanka

Hobbies : Reading and Travelling

Recreation : Watching Football

Permanent Address : Varsha,

Chovva P.O., Kannur-670 006

E-mail : elathur-mla@niyamasabha.org

**Telephone Numbers** 

Residence : 0497-2726156

Office : 0471-2332021

0471-2333176

**Voting Results** 

Electorate : 1,87,392

Votes Polled : 1,55,696

Shri A. K. Saseendran (N.C.P.) : 76,387

Shri Kishen Chand [J.D.(U)] : 47,330

Shri Rajan Nair (B.J.P.) : 29,070