UNIVERSITY OF KERALA

Reconstitution of the Senate – Election of Members by the Principals of Colleges (Govt/Pvt/Un-aided)/Members of the Legislative Assembly/Teachers of the University/Teachers of the Government Colleges/Teachers of the Private Colleges/Members of the Local Authorities/Trade Unions/Non-Teaching Staff of the University/Non-Teaching Staff of the Affiliated Colleges.

NOTIFICATION

No. Election/Senate/Reconstitution/2023

Whereas the Senate of the University of Kerala has to be reconstituted, it is hereby notified under Statute 34 of the Kerala University (Conduct of Elections to various Authorities or Bodies) First Statutes 1974, that elections will be held by postal ballot to elect to the Senate, persons coming under item (1), (2), (6) and (7) and without postal ballot in respect of items (3),(4),(5),(8) and (9) in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote and in accordance with the procedures prescribed by the Statutes to elect to the Senate.

1. Seven Principals from among themselves, of whom three shall be from among Principals of Government Colleges, three from among Principals of private Colleges and one among Principals of unaided colleges (Section 17 – Elected members – (1) of the KU Act, 1974).

2. Six members by the members of the Legislative Assembly of Kerala from among the members representing the electorate of the University Area, of whom one shall be a member of a Scheduled Caste (Section 17 – Elected members – (3) of the KU Act, 1974).

3. Three members by the teachers of the University from among themselves (Section 17 - Elected members - (4) of the KU Act, 1974).

4. Five members by the teachers of Government Colleges from among themselves (Section 17 - Elected members - (5) of the KU Act, 1974).

5. Sixteen members by the teachers of Private Colleges from among themselves (Section 17 - Elected members - (6) of the KU Act, 1974).

6. One member by the members of the Local Authorities of each District in the University Area from among themselves (Section 17 – Elected members – (7) of KU Act, 1974).

7. Two members by the Registered Trade Unions in the University area from among members designated by the Statutes (Section 17 Elected members – (8) of the KU Act, 1974).

8. One member by and from among the non-teaching staff of the University (Section 17 - Elected members - (9) of the KU Act, 1974).

9. Three members by the Non-Teaching Staff of Affiliated Colleges from among themselves of whom one shall be a member of the Non Teaching Staff of a Government College (Section 17 – Elected members – (10) of the KU Act, 1974).

*Schedule for election of a representative of Managers of Private Colleges, as provided under (section 17 – Elected members – (11) of the KU Act, 1974) will be notified later.

Only persons, whose names are on the electoral rolls of the respective constituencies as published by the University on **02.03.2023** are eligible to take part in the elections, and, to vote thereat, subject to the provisions contained in the Statutes.

Every elector is at liberty to nominate one duly qualified person to fill up each seat. Every such nomination shall contain the consent of the nominee in writing agreeing to serve the Senate, if elected.

Nominations shall be made in the prescribed form, copies of which can be had from the office of the Registrar to the electors whose names are on the electoral rolls. The envelopes containing the nomination papers should be superscribed "Nomination for Election to the Senate by" (mention the electorate).

The following is the programme for the conduct of the elections.

	Principals of Colleges (Govt.)	Principals of Colleges (Pvt.)	Principals of Colleges (Un-aided)	MLAs	Teachers of the University	Teachers of the Govt. Colleges	Teachers of the Private Colleges	Local Authorities	Registered Trade Unions	Non- Teaching Staff of the University	Non- Teaching Staff of the Affiliated Colleges
Last date & hour for receipt of nominations	18.04.2023 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	18.04.2023 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	18.04.2023 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	18.04.2023 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	18.04.2023 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	18.04.2023 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	18.04.2023 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	18.04.2023 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	18.04.2023 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	18.04.2023 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	18.04.2023 Tuesday 11.00 a.m
Date & hour for scrutiny of nominations	18.04.2023 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	18.04.2023 Tuesday 11.30 a.m	18.04.2023 Tuesday 12 Noon	18.04.2023 Tuesday 12.30 p.m	18.04.2023 Tuesday 02.30 p.m	18.04.2023 Tuesday 03.00 p.m	19.04.2023 Wednesday 11.30 a.m	19.04.2023 Wednesday 03.00 p.m	19.04.2023 Wednesday 11.00 a.m	19.04.2023 Wednesday 03.30 p.m	19.04.2023 Wednesday 02.30 p.m
Date of publication of provisional list of candidates	18.04.2023 Tuesday	18.04.2023 Tuesday	18.04.2023 Tuesday	18.04.2023 Tuesday	18.04.2023 Tuesday	18.04.2023 Tuesday	19.04.2023 Wednesday	19.04.2023 Wednesday	19.04.2023 Wednesday	19.04.2023 Wednesday	19.04.2023 Wednesday
Last date & hour for withdrawal of candidature	25.04.2023 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	25.04.2023 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	25.04.2023 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	25.04.2023 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	25.04.2023 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	25.04.2023 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	25.04.2023 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	25.04.2023 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	25.04.2023 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	25.04.2023 Tuesday 11.00 a.m	25.04.2023 Tuesday 11.00 a.m
Date of publication of final list of candidates	25.04.2023 Tuesday	25.04.2023 Tuesday	25.04.2023 Tuesday	25.04.2023 Tuesday	25.04.2023 Tuesday	25.04.2023 Tuesday	25.04.2023 Tuesday	25.04.2023 Tuesday	25.04.2023 Tuesday	25.04.2023 Tuesday	25.04.2023 Tuesday
Date of issue of ballot papers (if any)	11.05.2023 Thursday	11.05.2023 Thursday	11.05.2023 Thursday	11.05.2023 Thursday				05.06.2023 Monday	11.05.2023 Thursday		
Venue, date & hour for poll (if any)					04.05.2023 Thursday University Buildings 10.00 a.m to 01.00 p.m	09.06.2023 Friday at the respective Colleges 10.00 a.m to 01.00 p.m	20.06.2023 Tuesday at the respective colleges 10.00 a.m to 01.00 p.m			29.04.2023 Saturday at the University buildings 10.00 a.m to 01.00 p.m	19.06.2023 Monday at the respective Colleges 10.00 a.m to 01.00 p.m
Last date & hour for receipt of marked ballot papers at the University office, Tvpm	26.05.2023 Friday	26.05.2023 Friday	26.05.2023 Friday	26.05.2023 Friday		14.06.2023 Wednesday	24.06.2023 Saturday	20.06.2023 Tuesday	26.05.2023 Friday		22.06.2023 Thursday
Date & hour for scrutiny & counting of votes at the University Buildings, Tvpm	27.05.2023 Saturday 10.30 a.m	27.05.2023 Saturday 12 Noon	27.05.2023 Saturday 02.15 p.m	27.05.2023 Saturday 03.30 p.m	04.05.2023 Thursday 02.00 p.m	15.06.2023 Thursday 10.30 a.m	26.06.2023 Monday 10.30 a.m	21.06.2023 Wednesday 10.30 a.m	27.05.2023 Saturday 04.30 p.m	29.04.2023 Saturday 02.00 p.m onwards	24.06.2023 Saturday 10.30 a.m

University Buildings, Thiruvananthapuram, Dated: 03.04.2023 By Order of the Vice-Chancellor

Sd/-Prof.(Dr.) K.S Anil Kumar Registrar /Returning Officer